CSA Update Issue 50

Spring 2004 CSANews Issue 50  |  Posted date : May 05, 2007.Back to list

The Canadian Snowbird Association would like to take this opportunity to formally announce their President for the 2004 ­ 2006 term, Mr. Gerald Brissenden.

Gerry has been serving the membership of the Canadian Snowbird Association since 2000 and has held critical posts on the executive committee, including Treasurer and Chairman of the Special Events Committee.

Pic 1: Gerry Brissenden

CSA Appoints New Executive Director

The CSA is pleased to announce the appointment of Lawrence E. Barker, RPR as the Association's new executive director.

Mr. Barker brings more than 18 years of association management experience to the CSA. His previous association work includes serving as executive director with the Grand Valley Construction Association (GVCA), executive director with the Ontario Building Officials Association (OBOA) and director of member services with the Ontario Association of Certified Engineering Technicians and Technologists (OACETT). Prior to his career in the non-for-profit association sector, he was employed in both the private sector and with the Ontario government.

Pic 2: Lawrence Barker

AGM Report

The Canadian Snowbird Association Annual General Meeting was held in Lakeland Florida on January 14, 2004 in the Lake Hollingsworth Room at the Lakeland Centre.

This year's meeting was a memorable event. From the passing of the gavel from outgoing CSA President Ellen White to CSA President Gerry Brissenden; to the retirement of several directors who dedicated years of their time and effort to protect and improve the snowbird lifestyle for Canadians who travel south each winter; to the recognition of retiring past CSA President Bob Jackson.

Read on in the magazine and review the CSA Financial Statements and the Government Relations Report. Be sure to take a look at what our new President and executive director have to say in their respective columns.

Congratulations to the Recipients of CSA's 2004 President's Award!

Instituted in 2002, the president's award recognizes volunteer members who have served our association in an outstanding capacity, making a significant contribution to our success.

The winners for 2004 are:

  • Barbara Bristow
  • Jim & Eleanor Hamilton
  • Irene Pittock
  • Don & Beth Slinger

Thank you all for your tireless efforts on behalf of all CSA members!

Pic 3: Incoming President Gerry Brissenden accepts the gavel as it is passed by past President Ellen White.

Pic 4: CSA President Gerry Brissenden presents the Toshiba DVD door prize to lucky winner Luc Pagano of Ottawa, ON.

Pic 5: Former CSA President Bob Jackson addresses the membership at the Canadian Snowbird Association Annual General Meeting.

Pic 6: Former CSA President Bob Jackson addresses the membership at the Canadian Snowbird Association Annual General Meeting.